## ACADEMIC AFFAIRS UPDATE May 2, 2023

Dear Academic Affairs Colleagues,

You are doing once-in-a-generation transformational work and you are doing it well.

Multiple forces have converged to create unprecedented change in higher education: a pandemic that slowed children's and college students' intellectual and social development, a quantum leap in artificial intelligence that is changing the meaning of agency and knowledge and how we produce and consume information, and a political environment that makes funding and ideological emphases uncertain.

It is a challenge to live through a cultural revolution. Each of us is tested to do our best work and to stay resilient in these shifts that seem to ask so much of us. But know this: higher education is more than 1000 years old and has survived through the tectonic shifts of history's multiple social formations. Passing on knowledge and developing thinkers is humanity's best solution not just to its own survival but to its thriving. John Jay is a legacy we continue to build year by year.

## Model UN Legacy Continues

Congratulations to our John Jay students and their faculty advisor Professor M. Victoria Pérez-Ríos (POL) for winning the Outstanding Delegation Award, two paper position awards and one peer award at the National Model United Nations Conference this year.

Did you know that John Jay, through the wonderful work of the Political Science Department, has an almost 20-year tradition of winning top honors and multiple awards at the National Model United Nations Conference?



## Faculty Awards and Honors



Professor James Cauthen Distinguished Faculty Service to the College Award

At a ceremony today, we salute the outstanding work of distinguished faculty members for their contributions to teaching, service, students, and research. Please join me in congratulating – and thanking – the following for their inspiring work:

Distinguished Faculty Service to the College James Cauthen (Political Science)

Distinguished Teaching Prize Madhura Bandyopadhyay (English) Jerry Lim (Art)

Distinguished Faculty Service to Students Matluba Khodjaeeva (Computer Science)

Outstanding Scholarly Mentor Margaret Kovera (Psychology) Andrew Thompson (Sociology)

Scholarly Excellence Award Maureen Allwood (Psychology) Tarun Banerjee (Sociology) Gloria Browne-Marshall (Law, Police Science & CJA) Elise Champeil (Sciences) Samantha Majic (Political Science) Kevin Wolff (Criminal Justice)

MacNamara Junior Faculty Award Ana Pego (Sciences)

## Service: Let's Hear It for Department Chairs

May is the month of departmental elections and I want to thank every faculty member who shares in the running of the college by serving on department and college committees. Taking on service is a faculty obligation, to be sure, but for the college to thrive we have to care about the college, our academic colleagues and departments and curriculum, and our students' success. We show this through our actions.

I want to issue a special thanks to our Department Chairs who take on the lion's share of this shared governance work. The job of chair requires sensitivity to individuals, support for university and disciplinary standards of excellence, and adherence to institutional procedures. Chairs are referees and standard bearers and without their service the college would cease to work.

For those chairs who are ending their terms: thank you. For those individuals who are just now picking up the mantle: thank you, and I look forward to working with you.

Have you thanked your chair lately?

Considering Chairing? Look at the <u>Handook for Department</u> <u>Chairs</u> to learn more.



Allison Pease Interim Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs



524 West 59<sup>th</sup> Street New York, NY 10019 (212) 237-8101